Boonton Historical Society and Museum
- “Say Yes to the Dress,”our current museum exhibit featuring clothing and accessories from our collections
- Experience a glimpse of the past told through the petticoats, gowns, and unmentionables of a bygone era
- Gifts and bargains in our gift shops
- Free parking is available at the rear of the museum.
Built originally as a private home for Dr. John Taylor and his wife, Adelaide T. Kanouse, the lot was an 1897 Christmas gift from Adeladide’s father as an enticement to get his family to move closer to him. They had been living in Succasunna and Mount Arlington, where Dr. Taylor practiced medicine for 15 years. The Taylors returned to Boonton once this brick house was built.
Dr. Taylor continued his medical practice here. Dr. Ellery Peck worked with Dr. Taylor in this building as an associate for seven years. In 1917, Dr. Peck went to serve in WWI and Dr. and Mrs. Taylor moved to Chula Vista, California. After the war, the returning soldiers formed American Legion Post #124 and, the Mayor and Aldermen purchased the building from the American Legion and dedicated it as a permanent memorial to veterans and a home for Post #124. The Legion offered space to the Boonton Historical Society, and on November 11, 1980, the Society opened its museum on the second floor. Ten years later, the building was closed to the public and extensive restoration work was performed by both professional tradesmen and some tireless volunteers. The building reopened in 1997.