Mount Tabor Historical Society
Richardson History House
- Guided walking tours of picturesque Trinity Park throughout the day. Exhibit featuring the ongoing restoration of the Richardson History House. “Images of America–Mount Tabor” books, along with a select assortment of Mount Tabor merchandise, will be available for purchase.
- Parking Instructions: Parking available next to the Post Office along Simpson Avenue and, directly across the street. Do not park in the RESIDENT parking lot with numbered spots. Overflow parking is available at the United Methodist Church of Mount Tabor. On foot, follow signs to Trinity Park.
Mount Tabor was founded as a post-Civil War permanent Methodist Camp Meeting ground in 1869. Trinity Park is the center of the historic community where services were once held. Three prominent octagonal community buildings are located here: the Tabernacle, the Bethel, and the Library.
Also located on Trinity Park, the Richardson History House is a small-scale Folk Victorian cottage in the Second Empire style. Built in 1873 for the Richardson family, this historic house is distinct as one-third of a triple cottage. Owned by a descendent of Richardson until 2007, it was gifted to the Mount Tabor Historical Society to serve as a museum. The interior is a highly-preserved example of a camp meeting cottage. The floor-to-ceiling plate-glass windows in the front facade swing open to take advantage of the summer breezes and its ideal location on Trinity Park.
Mount Tabor Historic District was listed on the State and National Registers of Historic Places in 2015. An annual historic house tour is featured the last Saturday of each September. The museum is typically open on the second Sunday of each month from 12 to 4pm. Due to the pandemic, we are open by appointment.